Hectares converters

  • Hectares to Acres (ha to ac)
  • Hectares to Square Metres (ha to m2)
  • Hectares to Square Kilometers (ha to km2)
  • Hectares to Square Miles (ha to mi2)
  • Hectares to Square Feet (ha to ft2)
  • Hectares to Square Yards (ha to yd2)

Square feet converters

  • Square Feet to Square Meters (ft2 to m2)
  • Square Feet to Square Yards (ft2 to yd2)
  • Square Feet to Acres (ft2 to ac)

Acres converters

Square Inches converters

  • Square Inches to Square Feet (in2 to ft2)
  • Square Inches to Square Centimeters (in2 to cm2)

Square Meters converters

  • Square Meters to Square Feet (m2 to ft2)
  • Square Meters to Acres (m2 to ac)
  • Square Meters to Square Yards (m2 to yd2)

Other area converters

  • Square Kilometers to Square Miles (km2 to mi2)
  • Square Yards to Square Feet (yd2 to ft2)

What is Area?

In mathematics, the term “area” refers to measuring the size of a two-dimensional (2D) surface or shape. It quantifies the amount of space enclosed within the boundary of a shape. The unit of area depends on the system of measurement being used.

For example, in the metric system, the area is often measured in square meters (m²), while in the imperial system, it may be measured in square feet (ft²) or square inches (in²).

The formula to calculate the area of various geometric shapes differs depending on the shape. For example:

  • The area of a rectangle is calculated by multiplying its length by its width: Area = Length x Width.
  • The area of a triangle is calculated using the formula: Area=1/2 x Base x Height.

These are just a few examples, but there are formulas for finding the area of many other shapes.

Units of Area

Units of area are used to measure the size of a two-dimensional surface. Depending on the system of measurement being used, different units of area are employed. Here are some common units of area:

  1. Square meters (m²): This is the standard unit of area in the metric system. It represents the area of a square with sides each measuring one meter.
  2. Square kilometers (km²): This is used for larger areas, such as the size of countries or continents. One square kilometer is equal to one million square meters.
  3. Square centimeters (cm²): This is a smaller unit of area commonly used for measuring smaller objects. One square centimeter is equal to one one-hundredth of a square meter.
  4. Square millimeters (mm²): This is an even smaller unit of area, often used for very small objects or precise measurements. One square millimeter is equal to one one-thousandth of a square meter.

In addition to these metric units, there are also imperial units commonly used in countries like the United States:

  1. Square feet (ft²): This is a common unit of area used in the United States, particularly for measuring the size of rooms in buildings.
  2. Square yards (yd²): This unit is often used for larger areas, such as the size of yards or plots of land.
  3. Acres: An acre is a unit of area commonly used for measuring the size of land, particularly in agriculture and real estate. One acre is equal to 43,560 square feet or about 4,047 square meters.
  4. Square miles (mi²): This is a larger unit of area used for measuring the size of territories, states, or countries.

These are just some of the most common units of area, but there are others used in specific contexts or regions.